Raw Plant foods fall into fourteen major categories

  1. Fruits: Fruits are raw plant foods which contain the seed within themselves for the reproduction of their kind. Fruits may be sweet, non-sweet, or fat-dominant.
  2. Leaves: Leaves contain life-giving chlorophyll pigments, and are the best source of minerals.

Most herbs are green leaves

  1. Nuts: Nuts are the reproductive agents of certain trees. They are fat-dominant foods.
  2. Seeds: Seeds are the reproductive agents of plants. Depending on the type, they may be protein-dominant, or fat-dominant. Grains are seeds.
  3. Legumes: Legumes include all peas, beans, and peanuts, and are often sprouted before consumption. They are protein-dominant.
  4. Flowers: Flowers are the sexual organs of plants.
  5. Green sprouts: Green sprouts appear when sprouted seeds, or legumes, reach a certain point of growth and shoot forth green-leaves.
  6. Roots: Roots are the below-ground portion of plants.
  7. Shoots: Shoots are young plants spread by underground runners from their parent plants.
  8. Bark: The outer, protective layer of trees.
  9. Sap: The life-fluid of a tree.
  10. Stems: Stems are the fibrous, structural pieces of plants.
  11. Water vegetation: Sea vegetables are sea plant leaves containing bountiful minerals drawn in from the ocean, and up from the ocean floor. Spirulina and algaes of all types are included in this category.
  12. Mushrooms: Not a true plant food, this fungus grows in darkness and is not directly nourished by the vibrant Sun energy.
All You Wanted To Know About The Raw Food Diet

All You Wanted To Know About The Raw Food Diet

Raw food diets can be great way to not only lose weight but also led a much healthier, natural lifestyle in general. Most raw food diets are plant based with at least 75% of the diet composed of raw food.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment