Maltodextrin CFR

According to the CFR, maltodextrin is a starch made from corn, potato, or rice. According to the FDA, other starches, including wheat, may be used by manufacturers as long as they are generally recognized as safe.

  • For FDA-regulated foods, if maltodextrin used in a food product contains protein from wheat, the word wheat must be stated on the food label.
  • For USDA-regulated foods, maltodextrin could contain protein derived from wheat, and this might not be stated on the food label.
  • Bottom line: If you don't see the word wheat on the label of an FDA-regulated food product containing maltodextrin, the maltodextrin does not contain wheat protein. Malto-dextrin in a USDA-regulated product could contain protein derived from wheat.
0 0

Post a comment